Guild Wars 2: Path of Fire FAQ

Path of Fire is ArenaNet’s second major expansion pack to Guild Wars 2, released on September 22, 2017. The expansion introduces a number of new areas and features to the base game:

  • New region & story: the Crystal Desert
  • New Elite Specializations for every profession
  • Mounts to help you get around all of Tyria
  • New Guild Hall: Windswept Haven
  • New Armor and Weapons themed to the Elonian region
  • The introduction of Bounties
  • New Fractal Dungeons
  • Access to Heart of Thorns expansion content
  • …and more!

You can read more about all the features included in the expansion pack on the official Path of Fire website.


Q: When did Guild Wars 2: Path of Fire launch?

A: Guild Wars 2: Path of Fire launched on September 22, 2017.

Visit for more information about the game!

Q: Is the expansion “buy to play”?

A: Yes. Path of Fire is a paid expansion to Guild Wars 2.

When you purchase Path of Fire, you will unlock access to a new story, new specializations and content, a new region of the world, mounts, and more. You'll also have access to any future updates and releases for Path of Fire, and can unlock new chapters of the Living World for free by logging in each month. There are no additional subscription fees to play Guild Wars 2, which means that once you own it, it's yours to explore!

Q: Do I need to buy a copy of the core Guild Wars 2 game to play the expansion?

A: Nope! The core Guild Wars 2 game is available to play for free, and purchasing the expansion includes the entire core world and all of its features!

If you are using a free account, purchasing the expansion will automatically upgrade your Guild Wars 2 account and unlock all the core game has to offer. Path of Fire even comes with a max-level boost to help you level-up and equip one character with everything you need to play the expansion content right away.

Q: Is Heart of Thorns included when I buy Path of Fire?

A: Yes. As of August 30th, all purchases of Path of Fire will include the Heart of Thorns expansion as well.

Users who purchased the Path of Fire expansion prior to August 30th will also receive receive Heart of Thorns free of charge when logging into the game. 

Q: What does Path of Fire add to the base game?

A: Path of Fire takes you to the Crystal Desert and Elona: legendary lands first explored in Guild Wars: Nightfall. Using the Mastery system introduced in Heart of Thorns, you can unlock several unique mounts that help you explore the world in new ways. There are also nine new elite specializations—one for each profession—that will allow you to customize your character and playstyle in entirely new ways.

You can visit for more details about the game and all that it offers to Guild Wars 2.

Q: What is the difference between Path of FireHeart of Thorns, and a core Guild Wars 2 account?

You can see a full comparison of Guild Wars 2 accounts here.

Q: How much does Path of Fire cost?

A: Path of Fire is now available for purchase, and comes in three editions:

  • Path of Fire Standard Edition: includes the base game and the following items:
    • Heart of Thorns expansion access
    • Max-Level Boost.
  • Path of Fire Deluxe Edition: includes the base game and the following items:
    • Heart of Thorns expansion access
    • Max-Level Boost
    • Additional Character Slot
    • Identity Repair Kit
    • Sunspear Outfit
    • Lily of Elon Permanent Pass
  • Path of Fire Ultimate Edition: includes the base game and the following items:
    • Heart of Thorns expansion access
    • Max-Level Boost
    • Additional Character Slot
    • Identity Repair Kit
    • Sunspear Outfit
    • Lily of Elon Permanent Pass
    • 4000 Gems

You can visit for pricing and more details about the different editions.

Q: Will Path of Fire only be available digitally, or is there a boxed edition as well?

A: Path of Fire is available exclusively as a digital download. Please visit our official site for a full list of the available editions and exclusive bonus items, or click here to find other official retailers where you can pick up the game.

Q: Will there be a collector’s edition for Path of Fire?

A: While there will not be a physical collector's edition for Path of Fire, the Digital Deluxe and Ultimate editions offer additional digital items beyond the base game. You can find those editions (along with a list of all the items you’ll receive) on our official site.

Q: If I purchased the Standard Edition of Path of Fire, can I upgrade to Deluxe or Ultimate edition?

A: You can purchase the digital Deluxe Edition upgrade through the Black Lion Trading Company (the in-game store) using gems purchased in the game. The Ultimate Edition of Path of Fire, on the other hand, must be purchased as a complete edition; the Standard and Deluxe Editions cannot be upgraded to the Ultimate Edition.

Q: When will I get the gems that are part of the Ultimate Edition of Path of Fire?

Gem delivery may take up the 72 hours after purchase. If, for some reason, they don't arrive after that time, you can contact support for assistance.

Q: Do I need to own Path of Fire to play future content releases?

A: Any episodes of the Living World (Season 4) or raid wings released after Path of Fire will require the expansion to play.

Note that if you don't own Path of Fire, you can still unlock the Living World episodes for free by logging in while the episode is available. Doing so will unlock and allow you to play the episode if you decide to pick up Path of Fire later on.

Also note that any raids released during Season 4 may use both Path of Fire and Heart of Thorns masteries.